Life is Good

Wednesday 22 May.

I’m sitting, today, out on my not so private balcony, deck 11, enjoying a slight breeze, a bit of sun and a beautiful view of, what I think is, Timor. After breakfast I caught up with Mary & Ian and visited their stateroom for a chat. Needless to say I’m an hour later writing this but enjoying the view. So much so my writing is detracted.

So what did Tuesday hold for this cruisinprincess! An interesting table at breakfast, an even more interesting table at lunch, and made it, to everyone in the immediate areas surprise, first to the dinner table. Back to lunch, I was honoured to be invited as a guest of one of the most travelled passengers. Not top three but close. Cut off was 880 days and total numbers of days sailed at the lunch was about 36000. About 100 years apparently. It was also Mr Williams 100 Birthday so there was singing and cake. Menu, of course, was splendid. Our table host was the Staff Engineer, lovely person.

Choir was again fun but really needed to concentrate so the wine from lunch didn’t really help with that. Bohemian Rhapsody, you need your wits about you to keep up. Trivia, we either start off on a roll then fizzle or vice versa. 13, highest 17 so not bad.

The ESP lounge was much more pleasant and it was possible to have a conversation with others. I enjoyed my chat with John and Kay, who came to lunch in Brisbane, managing to catch up on their experience of shipboard life so far. John is also in the choir.

By the time I left them I had the beginning of a headache, not because of them, but I think there may have been mango purée on dessert at lunch and even trying to avoid it, it doesn’t take much to set me off. By 9pm I had turned back the clock to 8pm, taken a Panadol plus and was tucked up in bed. Woke at 6 am right as rain. I also had normal ankles. Looks like fluid retention is going to be a slight hitch. Oh well any excuse to put my feet up or dip into the pool to cool them down.

The view is distracting and if I didn’t see the wake I’d think we were floating. Life is good.

Leave a comment